AU Sport News

Sports Award Finalists Are...

Posted By Sports Development Officer on 31/10/2017

The finalists for the 2017 Club of the Year Awards and Patron's Cup are:

Patron's Cup

This award is presented to a club which had outstanding results and achievements by members in the past 12 months. It is presented in recognition of Professor McWha's support of AU Sport during his 10 year tenure as Vice-Chancellor

Nominations are:
• AU Boat Club
• AU Football Club
• AU Judo Club

The AU Boat Club has dominated this award since its inception in 2012. It had a good year taking out the Rowing SA Men’s and Women’s Championships, but is facing strong competition from the AU Football Club, which won three premierships, and the AU Judo Club whose members took out a number of state and national championships.

Club of the Year

Clubs, that have been nominated for ‘Club of the Year’, have met a set of criteria which AU Sport considers to constitute an “ideal” club. It is an award for which all AU Sport Clubs strive to attain. Winning clubs will be awarded a $1,000 financial incentive towards an approved club project combined with bragging rights for the next 12 months.

'The Bennett Shield, Club of the Year’ (for clubs with over 50 members) finalists are:

• AU Basketball Club
• AU Touch Club
• AU Water Ski Club

'The Jessop Shield, Club of the Year’ (for clubs with less than 50 members) finalists are:

• AU Cycling Club
• AU Swimming Club
• AU Wing Chun Kung Fu Club

Volunteer and Coach of the Year

AU Sport and our clubs would not have the success we enjoy without the involvement of a number of very important people in our sporting community - our Volunteers and Coaches. We do this by naming our Volunteer (student and non-student) and Coaches (elite and development) of the Year award winners at the annual Blues function.

This year’s finalists are:

Volunteer of the Year (AU Student)

• Eddie Dadds – AU Football Club
• James Hanley - UofA media student

Volunteer of the Year (Non-AU Student)

• Heath (Chip) Natt – AU Wing Chun Kung Fu Club
• David Coupe – AU Water Ski Club

Coach of the Year (Development)

• Ruby Beard – AU Gymnastics Club

Coach of the Year (Elite)

• Andrew Turrell – AU Basketball Club
• Krissie Steen – AU Football Club
• Seth Piszczuk – AU Wing Chun Kung Fu Club

Intervarsity Certificate of Merit

Finally, the AU Sport Board wishes to recognise the contribution and performance of University of Adelaide students, who represent the University of Adelaide in Intervarsity competition with distinction, but are not members of one of our affiliated AU Sport clubs. They are awarded an 'AU Sport Intervarsity Certificate of Merit'.

This year’s nominations are:
• Daphne McLeod – Uni Games, Futsal
• Zach Lovell – Uni Games, Basketball

Congratulations to everyone, who has been nominated. All winners will be announced at the 2017 Blues Awards on 22 November in front of a crowd of 200+ from the University of Adelaide and AU Sport community, including the Interim Vice Chancellor. Event details including ticket information can be found here.